A quote about critics!

This is a quote from an article that was originally in ORIGIN Magazine, I found it excerpted on Huffington Post.

And the last thing is, I can’t be paralyzed anymore by the critics. My new mantra is, if you’re not in the arena getting your ass kicked on occasion, then I’m not interested in your feedback. You don’t get to sit in the cheat seat and criticize my appearance or my work with mean-spiritedness if you’re also not in the arena. Now, if you’re also in the arena and you’re putting your ideas out and you’re owning them and you’re saying “I disagree with you about this and that, I think you’ve got this wrong” — then not only do I invite that, I freaking love that. I love that. I’m an academic. I’m hardwired for a good debate.

Brene Brown has a really good TED talk Here and at least one book out, Daring Greatly.

This quote really applies to riding though. Riding, and Dressage in particular, is so full of critics, the rail birds, who are not actually out there doing it, but sitting on the rail, squawking away at those who are doing it. Those are the ones that should be ignored!

About Mel

Random musings in a riding journal
Quote | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

