Bali is more uphill!

In the warm up.

Bali is fantastic, and I love her as she is allowing me to learn oodles of OCD dressage details. She is fun to ride, super willing to do what I ask, and happens to be built somewhat level…almost downhill. This means I have to work really hard to build her fitness and strength to carry herself and work in an uphill balance.

We went to a schooling show at Morningside Training center again, and as usual, it was lovely. I didn’t get there as early, but again managed to ride a bit too much in warm up. They were running a bit late, but since there were two riders doing two tests each, I didn’t realize it, I just counted the horse/rider pairs and thought things were on time…and was ready to go at my allotted 3:58pm ride time…and had 3 rides to go before it was my turn. Oops.

On the whole, I was pleased with the ride. I wasn’t overcome with nerves, but Bali did throw in a bit of exuberance into some lead changes and gave me some bonus changes, which sadly take away points.

Doug & Suzy (& Emma too, they are starting her off in life the right way! Horse show before 3 weeks) came, so I have lots of pictures! Yay.

I’m still working on keeping a bit more bend in my knee to keep my heel under my hip.

It is a bit better here.

I love how straight she is here!

I obviously still fret that her neck will fall off unless I stare at it sometimes!

The background is gorgeous at Morningside!

Nice square halt! I needed a prompter departure, so got a 7.5, but I am thrilled with a 7.5 still. I’m no Anky or Edward Gal, so I still love a test with no 4s.

I always manage to laugh when we blow a movement…in this case the flying change I’d just done was not as good as I’d have liked, now if I can just have this expression while in deep concentration.

There we are! Look at this uphill canter! We still need more jump for better airtime, but Bali is awesome!

About Mel

Random musings in a riding journal
This entry was posted in Bali, Riding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

