2012 Ride Summary

The post you’ve all been waiting to see! Where I bring the barn calendar inside and plug it into the spreadsheet.

I actually rode even more than last year. I also started to track my days off, and I took 49 days off from riding in 2012.

After 7 years of tracking rides, I’m up to 3326 rides, and if you are to believe Malcolm Gladwell, it takes 10,000 hours at your craft at a young age to become great…I might be getting close to the 10,000 hours if we count those decades of riding before I kept track.

The Riders at TerraOasis

Rider Total Rides Average Rides per Week
Mel 529 10.17
Suzy 158 3.04
Marit 99 1.90
Susan* 18 1.50
Patrick 6 N/A

* Susan came back to riding and is now Tanq’s new person, so her weekly averages are using 12 weeks instead of 52.

There were a handful of guests and helpers  who rode as well, but I only tallied them into the horse counts.

For 2012 on the horses:

Horse Total Rides Average Rides per Week
Romeo 125 2.55
Bali 238 4.58
Sparkle 140 2.69
Tanqueray 172 3.31
Neuf* 57 1.84
GQ 99 1.90

*Neuf only did stuff 31 weeks, so his averages do not include the weeks where he did nothing.  Neuf’s work is light and age appropriate.

To compare to 2011 you can go to 2011 Statistics

Last year, I went to a jumping clinic, this year, I power washed the barn. I think I chose better last year! But the barn looks good!

About Mel

Random musings in a riding journal
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012 Ride Summary

  1. Pingback: 2013 Ride Statistics | Work2rideandfarm's Blog

Leave a Reply

