Lesson with Linda Zang

Short version, which means my notes to me! I had a 7:45am lesson today, up in Poolesville, MD, which means I am going into work 2 hours late. I’ll have to make that up before Friday!

I collapse my right side to much. Overbend Bali to the left. Worked on straightening me. Keeping the right side tall and lifted going left and right.

For now, I need to keep my whip in my right hand, and use it on the shoulder. Just a touch or two, to help keep her lifting.

Inside leg to lift outside shoulder.

More of the outside ribcage to inside ear while posting (like I was doing on Chip).

Straightness, I’m too quick to be riding in shoulder fore. I need to be riding straight more.

Once we were straighter, she was more forward, just like in the (unblogged) Bent Jensen clinic I’d ridden in at the beginning of summer.

I need to do a lot of post 2-3 steps/sit/post 2-3 steps/sit to keep myself from dropping Bali. I throw my elbows and the connection away every time I change, so that is a good one to practice.

Linda doesn’t think I’ll have any problems with my L-R change once I get myself and thus Bali straighter. I’ve pretty much always known it is likely a rider caused issue. I’d never ridden with Linda before, but I like how she says “I’m happy!” when you are doing it right. It makes me smile!

I will likely try to go for more lessons up there, but it is dependent upon the schedule.

Off to work, and hopefully I’ll have time to write more details later.

About Mel

Random musings in a riding journal
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lesson with Linda Zang

  1. Pingback: Horses don’t fly! Pegasuses do! | Work2rideandfarm's Blog

  2. Pingback: Horses don’t fly! Pegasuses do! | Postcards

Leave a Reply

