Getting ready for BLMs and FPP picture intensive!

BLMs are just under 3 weeks away. Oct. 21-24, 2010 in Lexington, VA at the Virginia Horse Center.

I’m taking both Sparkle and Bali, and riding both in 2nd level for the show, and have entered both in the First Level championship class that we qualified to enter.

I’ve been watching as many WEG dressage rides as I can find time for (and find online) and they are really nice to ride. So many lovely horses, so many nice rides. My current “cool” rider is the Japanese rider, Hiroshi Kiretsu, because not only the warmup video I’m watching nice, but he is 70! Seriously, got to WEG at 70! Maybe I haven’t aged out of dreaming big.

Meanwhile, back in reality, where I am starting to understand more of the basics and how they build into the next level up, I’m working on second level stuff. Shoulder in, haunches in (travers), haunches out (renvers/wrong bend), starting on half pass, simple changes, some flying changes, lots of half halts, working on keeping the uphill canter, toss in a 6m circle from time to time, more bend, more connection, soft, trying to keep a loose lower leg (my newest thing) while not turning into a sack of potatoes in the rest of my body.

I feel like both girls are pretty solid, and barring mistakes, we should have some decent rides. Medium trot is still my weakest thing, some days I can get it on Bali, but I seem to have lost it the past few days.

Now, for the pictures! Starting with the jump that has the handy label incorporated.
null
Trotting around one of the tracks to warm up
null
Coming downhill over a teeny log
null
Suzy took one for the team by using the dressage saddle, since we only have one jumping saddle in the size that both boys wear.
null
Trotting along to a fence, I realize I never did shorten my stirrups. oops.
null
Initially Tanq wanted to land and GO!
null
Romeo looking pretty fantastic for a 25 year old.
null
The very haunted 18″ coop.
null
I told you it was haunted!
null
A tiny drop at this fence.
null
Romeo, with the appropriate amount of respect in his eye for that drop!
null
It isn’t so bad after all.
null
Romeo making sure Doug is doing his job, capturing how handsome a horse he is!
null
This water business isn’t so bad either.
null
jumping out!
null
Jumping in
null
And…the ditches
null
Er…this one is bigger and Swampthing might live in there.
null
But in the end, after coaxing from Suzy, it was do-able!
null

About Mel

Random musings in a riding journal
This entry was posted in Bali, Riding, Sparkle, Tanqueray. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

