This weekend is going to be fun!

Squee!!!!

So, in a recent post, I mentioned I was trying to figure out how to go work with Richard Williams (and Frances, his wife) soon. And….it works out that I’m going this weekend. When I pulled up Mapquest and did the map, I remembered why I’ve taken so long to get around to this….it is 5 hours each way.

But here is part of my excitement, when I called and talked to Frances, I was in my usual “talk to trainer to schedule, they never want to talk, so be succinct” mode, and it took a minute, but I realized, she was genuinely interested in knowing what I had been working on, and what I wanted to work with! Even better, when I said that I am sure that part of my roadblocks are my not having ridden a schoolmaster, she offered up her own horse so that I can ride piaffe, and another horse so I can get the feel for flying changes.

Then, the discussion of the progression of a dressage horse we touched on was lovely, and so this weekend is going to be freakin’ fantastic. Although, Pat did ask if I had a second spare tire yet for my trailer when he saw how far it is.

I’ll be cooking a couple of meals too, and since I love cooking, that is good too, and I’m so looking forward to the mealtime discussion of training details and theories with really fun, intelligent and caring people.

About Mel

Random musings in a riding journal
This entry was posted in Riding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

