Addressing the Core weakness

I’ve been getting more and more annoyed with my weak left leg, so after last night’s lesson, where I was seriously struggling to keep my left leg doing what my brain said, I decided to implement a bit of a PT program…on my own.

The building I work in has a gym downstairs. They have a “Core” class every day from 12:00p-12:15p. I am going to make a concerted effort to attend that Core class a minimum of 3 days a week.

On Monday, it is followed by the gym-yoga class, and also on Thursday. Today, I decided to skip my treadmill, where I’ve gotten complacent and comfortable with just upping my run times a bit, even though my back objects when I go too fast, and I did the dreaded stationary bike.

OMG, I am a SLOTH. 15 minutes in interval mode and I was dying. Legs like jello when I got off, those weak core muscles…which I’d just worked…yeah, WEAKLING. Hmm, now I remember why I avoid bikes. Perhaps, instead of avoiding, I need to make them a priority.

So much for feeling smug over my 19 minute 2 miles run that the treadmill said put me into the 83rd percentile for 40 year old Army women. And, no, I’m not in the Army, but it was a test program to try.

So, it is the bike until I’m not dying after 15 minutes. And, maybe, just maybe, I can retrain these left muscles to do what I say.

My friend Susan offered to bring her bike out and meet me and we could do some real bicycle riding. I guess I’ll be taking my bike in for a tune-up when I take Chris’ in.

About Mel

Random musings in a riding journal
This entry was posted in Pesky Back. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

